College and Academic Advising

All students in Grades 9-11 are assigned to a grade-level Dean for College and Academic Advising, who serves as an advocate and resource. The Deans meet individually with students throughout the year, assisting them in finding a balance between academic and extracurricular pursuits. To complement individual advising, the Deans introduce and use MaiaLearning, an online platform designed to assist with college and academic planning and advising. Deans also coordinate a series of grade-level educational programs for families and students to help them understand and prepare for the college admission process.

College Counselors are assigned to students during their junior year, assisting students as they navigate the college admission process. Our College Counselors offer students and families expertise drawn from decades of experience on both the high school and college/university side. They have visited over 300 colleges and universities and served on counselor advisory boards at a number of colleges/universities, including California Institute of Technology, Ithaca College, the University of Chicago, the University of Michigan, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of South Carolina.

College Counselors work with students to create personalized college lists that support each student's goals and interests, assist students in creating applications that are comprehensive and compelling, and keep students and families informed of the evolving trends and policies that impact college admission. 

Upper School Curriculum Guide

Upper School Academic Profile
 

Scheduling Visits 

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, Pine Crest will be accommodating a limited number of in-person college visits in Fall 2021. If you are interested in visiting Pine Crest this fall, please contact our office at collegecounseling@pinecrest.edu. Someone from our office will contact you regarding your request.

 

College and Academic Advising Contact Information

Marcia Hunt 
Dean of College and Academic Advising
Email: marcia.hunt@pinecrest.edu 

Kristen Kirkendall
Director of College and Academic Advising Communications
Email: kristen.kirkendall@pinecrest.edu

Katie Byrnes 
Associate Director of College and Academic Advising/Tenth Grade Academic Dean  
Email: katie.byrnes@pinecrest.edu 

Jaclyn Kuhn
Associate Director of College and Academic Advising
Email: jaclyn.kuhn@pinecrest.edu

Eric Eagan
Associate Director of College and Academic Advising
Email: eric.eagan@pinecrest.edu

Julia Moris-Hartley 
Writing Specialist 
Email: julia.moris-hartley@pinecrest.edu

Kalah Fanning 
Ninth Grade Academic Dean 
Email: kalah.fanning@pinecrest.edu
Jeff Shea
Senior Associate Director of College and Academic Advising
Email: jeff.shea@pinecrest.edu
Lisa Goldberg 
Eleventh Grade Academic Dean 
Email: lisa.goldberg@pinecrest.edu

Kathleen Sullivan 
Director of College and Academic Advising 
Email: kathleen.sullivan@pinecrest.edu

Colleen Hurt
Administrative Assistant
Email: colleen.hurt@pinecrest.edu

Karen Wilson-Walters 
Administrative Associate
Email: Karen.Wilson-Walters@pinecrest.edu

The College & Academic Advising Office is located on the Fort Lauderdale campus. The office number is 954-492-4117.