Pine Crest School Student-Athletes Recognized by the Miami Herald

Pine Crest School student-athletes and coaches have been recognized by the Miami Herald in their Broward All-County lists for the spring 2019 athletic season.
At the end of every season, the Miami Herald selects the top-performing athletes in their sport, categorizes them into first, second, third teams, and names an honorable mention list.

Lizzie Kaplan ’20 was named girls’ lacrosse player of the year and David Lins ’20 was named boys’ tennis player of the year. David was the FHSAA state champion tennis player individually and with his doubles partner Andrew Pereverzev ’20.

Andrea Santander 20 was named girls' swimmer of the year, and Tsion Yared 20 was named girls' cross country runner of the year.

For the coaches, Coach Eileen Pliske was named Coach of the Year for Girls' Lacrosse, Coach Mariusz Podkoscielny was named Coach of the Year for Boys' Swimming and Coach Paul Baur was named Coach of the Year for Girls' Cross Country.

Congratulations all and Go Panthers!


First Team
Sami Restrepo ’19

Second Team
Allison Trebbi ’19
Ryann Breault ’20
Honorable Mention
Lindsey Eldridge ’24
Ava Friesen ’22
Sophia Haig ’21
Ashley Weymouth ’19

Girls’ Tennis

Second Team
Akasha Urhobo ’25

Honorable Mention
Michaela Landry ’23
Lally Lavin ’23
Cookie Zaki ’22
Julianna Kislin ’19

Boys’ Tennis
Player of the Year
David Lins ’20

First Team
Singles and Doubles - David Lins ’20
Doubles - Andrew Pereverzev ’21
Honorable Mention
Bobby Genovese ’20
Jonathan Fromkin ’23
Ben Bernstein ’19

Girls’ Lacrosse
Player of the Year
Lizzie Kaplan ’20

Coach of the Year
Eileen Pliske

First Team
Taylor McClain ’21
Chloe Maister ’20
Lizzie Kaplan ’20
Jordan Vital ’20

Second Team
Ella Bishara ’22
Sophia Lehrman ’21
Alexis Logan ’21
Chelsea Thompson ’22
Boys’ Lacrosse

First Team
Josh Lehrman ’19
Matt Yellin ’21

Second Team
Michael Becker ’21
Girls’ Track & Field
First Team
1600m, 3200m - Tsion Yared ’20

4x800m - Tsion Yared ‘20, Amanda Schwartz ’20, Sierra Stocker ’21, and Emily Faulhaber ’20

Second Team
3200m - Emily Faulhaber ’20

Third Team
1600m - Emily Faulhaber ’20
Boys’ Track & Field

Honorable Mention
Jabari Owens ’19

Boys Volleyball

Second Team
Henry Pliske ’19